Do you need a book cover?

Some people will argue that the cover might be the deciding factor on whether they will read a book or not. Others are fine with generic stock images, as long as the content is good.

The biggest deal breaker for me when searching for a thriller is a full face close up of a person. It just makes me cringe and becomes a definite no go for me. Anything other than that, I can live with.

For a children’s book however, it is a must to make the cover as eye catching as possible. And stock images are most likely not going to do that.

Over the months I have been asked quite often if I could make drawings for free or for very cheap. And honestly, since it’s something I love doing, I gladly would. But… my bills need to be paid as well.

I think such an investment might stop many people from publishing their book. So if you’re not ready for a big project, how about just a book cover?

I offer the following for a book cover:

  • Price: 50 euro
  • Payment via PayPal
  • Initial quick sketch is for free. If you like the direction it is going in, 50% of the price shall be payed after initial sketch. Remaining 50% after approval of final design.
  • Unlimited evaluations
  • Delivery will be in various document types (jpg, png, RGB, CMYK, pdf)
  • Any book format is possible
  • If needed, I can help with uploading the cover
  • You must like my drawing style. Unfortunately I am not able to draw in any other style

So if you need a book cover, email me on : skepticalvalentino@hotmail.com

How important are book covers for you? Any dealbreakers? 😄

20 Comments

  1. Book covers generally don’t matter to me at all—I listened to audiobooks for years and couldn’t even tell you what was on the covers. However, I 100% agree with you about the covers of books for children—they are visual creatures and awesome designs get (and keep) their attention/interest. If only I wrote books at all, I’d certainly use your services—I love your style and sense of humor in your artwork!

    Like

    1. I also only listen to audiobooks. It allows me to be more efficient. So yeah, book covers don’t have a great impact on my choice.
      Narrators however….. why does every decent book have to be read by Brittany Presley. I just can’t stand her way of dragging the words 😅

      I am so happy to hear you like the humor aspect! I feel like people do like it on the blog, but wouldn’t choose it for their book.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your “style” helps the cover pass the “postage stamp test,” which makes sure the image is eye-catching and the text is still readable even when reduced in size.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A good book cover is super important, in my opinion. I wouldn’t buy a book based on the cover alone, but if a book-cover catches my eye, I’m far more likely to read the book description or skim through the first few pages.

    Like

      1. I stumbled upon a book many years back called “Halo.” It had nothing to do with the video game “Halo,” just to be clear. It was a Y.A. romance about angels. It wasn’t the kind of thing I normally read, but I ended up enjoying it. Never would have picked it up or known anything about it, though, if not for the cover.

        Hopefully this link works:

        Like

  4. hehehe, very true! I was really surprised by how expensive the covers were to buy. I kind of get it from the designer’s perspective, but if you’re a beginning author, every penny counts because you might actually sell nothing at all… But, of course I see it from your side, too. I have to say that covers DO matter. Since I don’t read book by author’s name, it’s the covers that attract me when I look at the shelves at the bookstore. The blurb is the 2nd thing I look at. They both have to match and be great. If not, I put it away. But, for me to pick it up, it has to pass the first test – cover.

    Like

          1. Eh… nothing fun. Someone recommended a non-fiction book to me on the topic of the industry I work in and I couldn’t get past 25% of it. 1. I don’t agree with some of it at all as I think the author is biased and it’s just so dryyyyy.

            Then I borrowed ‘Lead Yourself First: Inspiring Leadership Through Solitude.’ Again – a non-fiction book (I think you know these are not my preferred.) while it has some wise insights, most of the chapters are about figures from history and their careers. I don’t need to know how an army commander won a certain battle. I only fish out the lessons. So, I end up skipping a bit. Yawn.

            What’s the title?

            Like

Leave a comment